The Australian Government has today announced Australian Defence Force (ADF) senior leadership appointments.

The terms of the Chief of the Defence Force (CDF), General Angus Campbell, and the Vice Chief of the Defence Force (VCDF), Vice Admiral David Johnston, will be extended by two years.

Additionally, the Government has asked the Chief of the Defence Force to extend the term of the Chief of Joint Operations, Lieutenant General Greg Bilton, for two years.

The Acting Prime Minister and Minister for Defence, Richard Marles, also announced new Chiefs of Navy, Army and Air Force.

Rear Admiral Mark Hammond will be promoted to Vice Admiral and will lead the Navy; Major General Simon Stuart, on promotion to Lieutenant General, will take command of the Army; and Air Vice-Marshal Robert Chipman, on promotion to Air Marshal, will become Chief of Air Force. All have been appointed for four-year terms.

Mr Marles said the additional service of the current CDF and VCDF would enable continuity of “strategic advice and the timely and effective delivery of key procurements including through the AUKUS framework”.

“General Campbell and Admiral Johnston are a team which offer stability in command and continuity in the delivery of advice and defence capability for the Government,” he said.

He said General Bilton’s continued leadership in the planning and conduct of our military campaigns and exercises would “provide ongoing stability and certainty”.

Mr Marles extended the Government’s “deepest gratitude and thanks” to the outgoing Chief of Navy, Vice Admiral Michael Noonan, Chief of Army, Lieutenant General Rick Burr, and Chief of Air Force, Air Marshal Mel Hupfeld.

“These officers have served our nation with great distinction during a period of significant cultural change and modernisation of military capabilities.”

The Governor-General has accepted the recommendations for appointment of the ADF’s senior leadership positions.